History of States Created in Nigeria and Year of Creation

Year of creation, 1952 Governor-General, Created four Regions, these are
Eastern, Northern, Mid-western and Western Regions

In the year 1967, the military head of state, General Yakubu Gowon created twelve (12) states. These are; Benue Plateau, East-central, Kano, Kwara,
Lagos, Mid-west, North West, North East, North Central, Rivers, South East, South Western State.

In the year 1987, General Ibrahim Babangida created 19 States in Nigeria. These include Anambra, Borno, Benue, Bauchi, Bendel, Cross River Gongola, Imo, Kano, Kaduna, Kwara, Lagos, Niger, Ondo, Oyo, Ogun,
Plateau, Rivers and Sokoto.

Also, the same government of General Ibrahim Babangida created additional two states in the year 1987 which are; Akwa- Ibom and Kastina

In the year 1991, he created nine (9) more states which include;
Adamawa, Abia, Delta, Enugu, Edo, Jigawa, Kogi, Taraba, Yobe and Osun

lastly, in the year 1996, military leader, General Sanni Abacha created 6 more states taking the total number of states in Nigeria to 36 and the FCT. The state created are; Ekiti, Ebonyi, Bayelsa, Gombe, Nassarawa and Zamfara.

Here is a list of the present states and their capitals in Nigeria.

Abia StateUmuahia
Adamawa StateYola
Akwa Ibom StateUyo
Anambra StateAwka
Bauchi StateBauchi
Bayelsa StateYenagoa
Benue StateMakurdi
Borno StateMaiduguri
Cross River StateCalabar
Delta StateAsaba
Ebonyi StateAbakaliki
Edo StateBenin City
Ekiti StateAdo-Ekiti
Enugu StateEnugu
Federal Capital TerritoryAbuja
Gombe StateGombe
Imo StateOwerri
Jigawa StateDutse
Kaduna StateKaduna
Kano StateKano
Katsina StateKatsina
Kebbi StateBirnin Kebbi
Kogi StateLokoja
Kwara StateIlorin
Lagos StateIkeja
Nasarawa StateLafia
Niger StateMinna
Ogun StateAbeokuta
Ondo StateAkure
Osun StateOshogbo
Oyo StateIbadan
Plateau StateJos
Rivers StatePort Harcourt
Sokoto StateSokoto
Taraba StateJalingo
Yobe StateDamaturu
Zamfara StateGusau

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.